CMA Awards Nominations 2020: Carrie Underwood, Luke Combs & More

The nominees for the 2020 CMA Awards were announced on Sept. 1, and stars like Carrie Underwood and more are up for some of the biggest honors this year!

Reading Time: 3 minutes
carrie underwood
View gallery
Image Credit: AP Images

Carly Pearce and Luke Combs appeared on Good Morning America on Sept. 1 to reveal the list of nominees for the 2020 Country Music Association Awards. The initial announcement was followed up with Gabby Barrett and Ingrid Andress reading off the rest of the nominees via CMA’s YouTube and Facebook pages. The biggest stars in country music were recognized in various categories for their work over the past year.

Carrie Underwood hits the stage in a mini dress for a performance. (AP Images)

During the nominations announcement, it was also revealed that the 2020 CMA Award will be taking place on Wed. Nov. 11. Television scheduling has been hectic this year due to the coronavirus pandemic, but the show is happening around its usual, mid-November time. The host for the show has also not been confirmed, but in 2019, Carrie Underwood confirmed that she would not be returning in the role for the first time in 12 years. Check out a full list of nominees here:

Entertainer of the Year
Eric Church
Miranda Lambert
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban
Luke Combs

luke combs
Luke Combs plays guitar while performing onstage. (AP Images)

Album Of the Year
Jon Pardi — Heartache Medication
Ashley McBryde — Never Will
Old Dominion — Old Dominion
Miranda Lambert — Wildcard
Luke Combs — What You See Is What You Get

New Artist Of The Year
Jimmie Allen
Ingrid Anress
Gabby Barrett
Morgan Wallen
Carly Pearce

Musical Event Of The Year
Dan + Shay with Justin Bieber — “10,000 Hours”
Thomas Rhett with Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban — “Be A Light”
Maren Morris with Hozier — “The Bones”
Miranda Lambert ft. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack — “Fooled Around & Fell In Love”
Carly Pearce and Lee Brice — “I Hope You’re Happy Now”

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Song of the Year (goes to the songwriter)
Miranda Lambert — “Bluebird”
Maren Morris — “The Bones”
Luke Combs — “Even Though I’m Leaving”
Carly Pearce & Lee Brice — “I Hope You’re Happy Now”
Ingrid Andress — “More Hearts Than Mine”

Single of the Year (goes to artist, producer & mix engineer)
Dan + Shay with Justin Bieber — “10,000 Hours”
Luke Combs — “Beer Never Broke My Heart”
Miranda Lambert — “Bluebird”
Maren Morris — “The Bones”
Gabby Barrett — “I Hope”

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Music Video of the Year
Dan + Shay with Justin Bieber — “10,000 Hours”
Miranda Lambert — “Bluebird”
Jake Owen — “Homemade”
Carly Pearce & Lee Brice — “I Hope You’re Happy Now”
Chris Stapleton — “Second One To Know”

More From Our Partners