Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Jimmie Johnson Wins The Daytona 500

Sun, February 24, 2013 4:44pm EDT by Emily Longeretta 2 Comments

As the 55th running of NASCAR’s most important and prestigious race concluded on Sunday, Feb. 24, one driver was the clear victor.

For those fans of racing, today was the Superbowl, the Oscars and the World Series all wrapped in one. After an exciting race, Jimmie Johnson crossed the finish line first at the Daytona International Speedway, taking the victory!

Jimmie beat out Dale Earnhardt Jr., winning his second Daytona 500 in a row.

Danica Patrick: First Woman To Earn Pole Position Ever

On Feb. 17, Danica Patrick was honored to be the first women to ever win the pole for the Daytona 500, and top the speeding charts. However, while she lead the race, it was the 42 cars behind her that were one her mind.

Daytona 500’s New Race Cars

You may have realized the race looked a little different this year, as the cars were all Generation-6 Sprint Cup cars — making the cars look more like their original make and model. This year, you could tell the difference between Ford, Chevrolet and Dodge vehicles — at least, you should have been able to!

Frontrunner Drivers At 2013 Daytona 500

Racing around the 2.5 mile tri-oval track in Daytona, Fl. the cars hit higher speeds than ever, working to beat last year’s champ Matt Kenseth. The other ones to beat included last year’s second and third place drivers, Dale Earnhardt, Jr. — who’s engine failed after 11 laps at the practice at Daytona on Wednesday. Feb. 20 — and Greg Biffle.

However, one thing this year was safe from? The rain, which is the reason last year’s race was delayed a day.

So HollywoodLifers, did you enjoy the race?

WATCH: Danica Patrick Qualifies For Pole Position At 2013 Daytona 500

Subscribe to me on YouTube

— Emily Longeretta

More Sports News

  1. Danica Patrick Tops Speed Charts & Wins The Pole At Daytona 500
  2. Lance Armstrong Reveals To Oprah: I Bullied My Teammates Into Doping
  3. Baltimore Ravens: Super Bowl 2013 Champions — Beat The 49ers