Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Glen Powell & More Stars Reveal Favorite Movie Villain At Gotham Awards — Watch

Thu, December 1, 2016 4:54pm EDT by Emily Longeretta Add first Comment

With the Gotham Awards officially kicking off the big stretch of award shows for movie stars, we knew there was one thing every celebrity had in common at the event: they had a favorite villain. It is the Gotham Awards after all!

HollywoodLife caught up with a ton of stars at the 2016 Gotham Independent Film Awards at Cipriani Wall Street on Monday, November 28th. So, what villain from the movies was their favorite? Here’s little hint: what doesn’t kill you, simply makes you stranger!

David Oyelowo, the star of Queen of KatweHeath Ledger‘s Joker in The Dark Knight. “There’s no question,” he added. Moonlight stars Alex R. Hibbert and Jaden Piner may have been the red carpet duo of the night, but they didn’t agree on their villain. While Jaden went with the Joker as well, Alex chose The Dark Knight Rises‘ Bane (Tom Hardy).

Queen Sugar‘s Reagan Gomez-Preston and husband DeWayne Turrentine both chose the Joker. And then there was the guys from Everybody Wants SomeScream Queens star Glen Powell chose one you may not remember: Doug Neidermeyer from Animal House. However, Austin Amelio had to go with Heath’s joker as well.

We rounded out our video with Anya Taylor-Joy, the breakout star of The Witch, who explained how terrified she was of the villain in the movie, Horns! So, who’s your favorite movie villain, HollywoodLifers?

Gotham Independent Film Awards Best Dressed — PICS

Watch our video above, and check out all the winners from the big night below:

Best Feature
Barry Jenkins, director; Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, producers (A24)

Best Documentary
O.J.: Made in America
Ezra Edelman, director; Caroline Waterlow, Ezra Edelman, Tamara Rosenberg, Nina Krstic, Deirdre Fenton, Erin Leyden, producers (ESPN Films)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Rachel Bloom & Aline Brosh McKenna, creators; Marc Webb, Rachel Bloom, Aline Brosh McKenna, Erin Ehrlich, executive producers (The CW)

Best Actress
Isabelle Huppert in Elle (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Actor
Casey Affleck in Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Trey Edward Shults for Krisha (A24)

Best Screenplay
Moonlight, Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; Screenplay by Barry Jenkins (A24)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
Her Story, Jen Richards and Laura Zak, creators (

Breakthrough Actor
Anya Taylor-Joy in The Witch (A24)