Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

New York City Marathon 2015: Mary Keitany Wins Women’s Division

Sun, November 1, 2015 12:31pm EDT by Beth Shilliday 1 Comment

Over 50,000 runners turned out Nov. 1 for the 44th annual TCS New York City Marathon. Mary Keitany won the women’s division in a time of just 2:24:25. This is her second consecutive win! Congrats, Mary!

Kenyan Mary Keitany, 32, successfully defended her 2014 New York City Marathon title at the 2015 NYC race by crossing the finish line first again. In an amazing time of 2:24:25, Mary received another gold medal and $100,000 prize!

Mary is the first woman to repeat NYC marathon wins since Paula Radcliffe in 2008. Mary beat Ethiopia’s Aselefech Mergia by 67 seconds. Mary began to pull away from the pack around the 21-mile mark. Ethiopia’s Tigist Tufa placed third.

The women’s division had quite a competitive field. The women were led by Mary, as well as 2013 New York City Marathon winner and World Marathon Majors champion Priscah Jeptoo, also from Kenya. Two-time NYC Marathon winner Jelena Prokopcuka of Latvia, and 2011 and 2013 runner-up Buzunesh Deba of Ethiopia were also among the elite competitors. The 2011 World and 2012 Olympic 10,000-meter silver medalist Sally Kipyego of Kenya made her NYC marathon debut.

The fastest American woman in the field was Alana Hadley, an 18-year-old college freshman at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Her previous personal best time was 2 hours and 38 minutes.

They joined over 50,000 other runners in the race, which kicked off on Staten Island, before winding it’s way through other NYC boroughs of Brooklyn, Queens, and the Bronx and finishing in Manhattan’s Central Park.

Join Amazon Prime – Watch Thousands of Movies & TV Shows Anytime – Start Free Trial Now

The course’s finale wound down the east side of Central Park on Manhattan’s Upper East Side. The runners had brisk autumn weather conditions for the annual event, with race time temperatures in the 50s.

HollywoodLifers, join us in congratulating Mary on her triumphant victory for the second year in a row!

— Beth Shilliday