Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

One Direction’s ‘Midnight Memories’ Is Their Best Album Ever

Mon, November 18, 2013 12:13pm EDT by Emily Longeretta 10 Comments
One Direction Midnight Memories
Courtesy of Syco Music

It may sound cliché, but it’s the truth. The boys have brought their A-game to ‘Midnight Memories.’ 1D’s third album leaked on Nov. 18, and I promise you, it’s their best album ever (and not just because it includes ‘Best Song Ever.’)

Third time is definitely the charm for One DirectionMidnight Memories, has leaked and it’s seriously inspiring, fun and encouraging. The album perfectly captures the transition Niall Horan, Zayn Malik, Liam Payne, Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson went through, as they’ve grown up so much, and introduces a whole new, much more mature sound.

One Direction Debuts New Sound On ‘Midnight Memories’

If you’re looking for the young, pop sound you heard in “What Makes You Beautiful” in 2011, you’ve come to the wrong place. Midnight Memories is a whole new creation for the band.

Their more mature sound resembles that of The Lumineers, complimented by acoustic and smooth harmonies between the five guys. The album features 14 songs (18 if you’re getting the deluxe edition), and it’s a mixture of pop, folk, and emotional ballads.

‘Midnight Memories’ Is Full Of Love Songs

I’m not sure if it’s because Zayn is planning a wedding or if it’s just because the men are all growing up, but this album is completely filled with songs about love. My favorite of them all — and yes, I spent the day listening to all of it — is “You and I.”

The chorus is so romantic: “You and I/We don’t wanna be like them/We can make it till the end/Nothing can come between you and I/Not even the Gods above can separate the two of us/No nothing can come between you and I.”

This is just the start of the lovey-dovey-ness. Even their faster songs are romantic — for example, “Little Black Dress” is about seeing a beautiful girl at a party. I’m all about the romance! “Little White Lies” may have a negative title, but it’s all about the adoration for a certain someone! The boys sing, “If this room was burning/I wouldn’t even notice/’Cause you’ve been taking up my mind/With your, little white lies, little white lies.”

The most romantic of all is on the last of the bonus tracks — “Half the Heart.” I actually teared up listening to it! “And being here without you/It’s like I’m waking up to/Only half a blue sky/Kinda there but not quite/I’m walking round with just one shoe/I’m a half a heart without you.”

Trust me — you’ve got to listen to this album. Whether going through a break up, falling in love, or celebrating the best years of your life with your best friends, this album is for you. Below is the full tracklist. Listen to each and every song, and let me know what you think!

‘Midnight Memories’ Full Tracklist

1. “Best Song Ever”
2. “Story of My Life”
3. “Diana”
4. “Midnight Memories”
5. “You and I”
6. “Don’t Forget Where You Belong”
7. “Strong”
8. “Happily”
9. “Right Now”
10. “Little Black Dress”
11. “Through the Dark”
12. “Something Great”
13. “Little White Lies”
14. “Better Than Words”

Bonus tracks:
15. “Why Don’t We Go There”
16. “Does He Know?”
17. “Alive”
18. “Half A Heart”

— Emily Longeretta

More One Direction News:

  1. One Direction Guys Look Sexy On Individual ‘Seventeen’ Covers
  2. One Direction Releases Sexy TV Commercial For ‘Midnight Memories’
  3. One Direction Releases Behind-The-Scenes Video For ‘Story Of My Life’